Dead Island: Or, I cannot stop watching the trailer long enough to come up with a clever title.

Posted: February 17, 2011 in News, Video games

So by now everyone’s seen the Dead Island trailer that hit the internet like a barrage of zombie-carrying SCUD missiles yesterday.  But what’s the word on the gameplay?

The trailer had me dying to play it, and just about everything else I’ve heard only made that craving worse.  You can play it solo, so it doesn’t require you to deal with gore-crazed fourteen-year-old boys as the price of gameplay.  You can also play with up to four PCs, which – coincidence! – is exactly the number of people in my family who will be willing – nay, champing at the bit – to suit up and spend quality bonding time bashing the brains out of zombies.  According to this article at ps3.ign.com, it will feature honest to Jesus skill trees and a leveling system so you can level up your zombie-slaying abilities and gain new skills as you go along.  And your weapons are basically whatever you can pick up and swing at a zombie, and they break eventually.  I was foreseeing a lot of “Shit, I loved that axe!” going on in my future.

Until Bomb #2 dropped on me, and not in the good way this time: it’s a first-person shooter.  I fucking hate first-person shooters.  They look ridiculous and I can’t play them for five minutes without teetering on the edge of both migraine and projectile vomiting.  They’re worse than rendered-on-the-fly backgrounds.  (Don’t even get me started on Soul Reaver II.  I was honest to god sick for days.)

Still, I may give it a try if the initial buzz on the game is any match for the trailer.  We’ll have to see.  It’s been in development at Techland for a disturbingly long time; there’s an article at pc.ign.com that talks about Dead Island‘s E3 debut back in 2006.

In the meantime, I’ll just watch the trailer a lot.  And wait for the official site to come back up.

 

Leave a Reply

