This is the coolest movie-related thing that has ever happened to me. Ever.

Posted: February 28, 2010 in News

When I was a child, Dark Shadows was on in syndication at the crack of dawn. Not only did I get up to watch it, but I refused to leave for school until it was over. Given my deep-seated loathing of getting out of bed in the morning, this was a pretty big deal. Not only that, one of my favorite books was The Curse of Collinwood, a novelization that involved ZOMBIES.  Oh, how I loved that book, from the old-paper smell to empty-eyed zombies snapping the spines of hapless pro wrestlers for, well, no apparent reason at all other than that zombies do that sort of thing.  (I recently replaced it.  The replacement book smells exactly the same as the one I had as a child.  We will not discuss how stupidly happy it made me to sit there huffing a zombie-related soap opera novel.)

I also loved the Burton-Depp collaboration on Sleepy Hollow in all its dreamlike, slightly ridiculous, over-the-top gothness.  So you can imagine my joy on finding out that their next collaboration will be on a Dark Shadows movie, with an anticipated 2011 release date.  It’s probably too much to hope for that part of the set might fall on someone if a door is slammed too hard, a thing that was not unheard-of on the original show, but I don’t even care.  It’s going to be that cool.

If I were the Bride of Barnabas, I would consider it my sworn duty to introduce him to the wonders of modern shampoo.  And break him of the bear-grease habit.  That shit has to be expensive nowadays.

Leave a Reply

